Study in New Zealand


New Zealand Education System

New Zealand is a popular destination for international students recognised for its safe environment and quality education system. More than 97,000 international students from over 150 countries studied in New Zealand in 2011.

New Zealand Education System

Education is compulsory for all students aged between 6 and 16 years, though the vast majority of students begin school at age 5.

New Zealand’s education system is divided into three main levels:

  • early childhood education (pre-school, kindergarten)
  • schooling (primary school and secondary school)
  • tertiary education (politechs and universities)

Early childhood education (ECE)

This is pre-school education for children under the age of five. It is characterised by a world-leading national curriculum and there is continual emphasis on increasing the levels of teacher quality.

School Education

There are around 2,600 schools in New Zealand, almost all funded by the government making them free for New Zealand citizens. Each school follows a national curriculum but are self-managed and well resourced.

Tertiary Education

Tertiary education in New Zealand is delivered by the following:

  • Universities
  • Institutes of Technology and Polytechnics (ITPs)
  • Private Training Establishments (PTEs)
  • Industry Training Organisations (ITOs)

Tertiary institutions all deliver a variety of educational options, often in flexible ways to meet the needs of adult learners.

New Zealand Universities

These are the 8 universities of New Zealand offering degree programmes at undergraduate and postgraduate levels.

All universities offer a broad range of subjects for degrees in business, science and the arts. However each university has also developed its own specialist subjects, such as medicine, engineering, agriculture and food technology as seen below.

  • The University of Auckland - Auckland
    • architecture, planning, engineering, medicine, optometry, and fine arts
  • Auckland University of Technology - Auckland
    • health sciences
  • The University of Waikato - Hamilton
    • law and Maori studies
  • Massey University - Palmerston North
    • agriculture, horticulture, food technology, and veterinary science
  • Victoria University of Wellington - Wellington
    • architecture, law, public administration and social work
  • University of Canterbury - Christchurch
    • forestry, engineering and fine arts
  • Lincoln University - Christchurch
    • agriculture and horticulture
  • University of Otago - Dunedin
    • medicine, dentistry, physical education, pharmacy and surveying

Note that we don't have private universities in New Zealand.

Institutes of Technology and Polytechnics (ITPs)

Below is a list of institutes of technology and polytechnics in New Zealand:

High Schools and Colleges

Some of the High Schools that we recommend to study at include the following:

  • Kerikeri High School - Kerikeri
  • Botany Downs Secondary College - Auckland
  • Howick College - Auckland
  • Rangitoto College - Auckland
  • Northcote College - Auckland
  • Newlands College - Wellington
  • Riccarton High School - Christchurch
  • Christchurch Boys' High School - Christchurch

Note that their is no difference in the terms "High School" and "College" as they both mean a secondary education school.

We have personally seen that these high schools have a great system in place for international students.

If you found this information about Study in New Zealand useful, share it with others:

Last Updated: 16 April 2014